Aussie Millions Poker Championships Announces 2017 Tour Dates to Celebrate Its 20th Anniversary

Aussie Millions

Aussie MillionsThe Aussie Millions Poker Championship just announced its 2017 tour dates. Aussie Millions has again partnered with PokerStars for the Main Event. Over 20 gold rings are on the schedule. The entire tour takes place from January 11 through 30. The Main Event, hosted by Crown Melbourne in its Crown Poker Room, is scheduled for January 22 through 29. The remainder of the tour for now remains secret.

With a pool prize of over A$7 million, its Main Event is the large poker tournament south of the equator. It’s the sixth largest poker tournament in the world. Aussie Millions partnering with PokerStars for the third consecutive year, the Main Event is part of PokerStars’s Asia Pacific Poker Tour.

In 2016, Ari Engel from Canada defeated 731 other top professional and amateur players from around the world to win A$1,600,000. The buy-in was A$10,600.

The tournament consists of Texas Hold ’em with the players at eight-handed tables. Most tournaments sit the players nine to a table. When the field is reduced to 36 players, the tables hold six people each.

Aussie Millions is also known for its high roller tournaments. It launched its $100,000 No Limit Holdem Challenge in 2006. At that time, it was the largest buy-in in poker history, and the entrants also had to pay a $500 fee. Players then get 100,000 chips. They are allowed only 30 seconds to act on their hands, so it requires quick thinking. In 2016 the winner was Fabian Quoss from Germany. Out of 41 entrants, he won A$1,446,480.

By 2011, other poker tournaments were adding events with buy-ins similar to the $100,000 No Limit Holdem Challenge, so Aussie Millions created its $250,000 Super High Roller contest. At that time, the A$250,000 buy-in was the highest in the world, but 20 players entered. In 2016 Steve O’Dwyer from Ireland defeated 15 others to win A$951,960.

Since then, the World Series of Poker has held an event with a US$1 million buy-in, so that A$250,000 is no longer has the largest buy-in.

The 2016 Aussie Millions tournament included such events as: $2,500 8-Game Mixed (won by Stephen Chidwick of Great Britain), No-Limit Hold’em, $1,150 No-Limit Hold’em Accumulator, $1,500 Deep Freeze and $25,000 Challenge. Some of the other big name attendees included: Jason Somerville, Jason Mercier, Peter Aristidou, Jarryd Godena, Oliver Gill, Richard Ashby, Benjamin Benoit and Brian Yoon.

The L K Boutigue $250,000 Challenge takes place on the final day of the Aussie Millions tournament. In 2016, O’Dwyer defeated such players as: David Peters, Connor Drinan, Mike McDonald, Fedor Holz, Phil Ivey, Brian Rast, Ben Tollerene, Igor Kurganov, Byron Kaverman, Paul Newey and Fabian Quoss.

In 2016 Dion Mavrangelos won the $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em Deep Freeze. This event lasted three days and had 323 entrants. He won A$83,620 and an LK Boutique Aussie Millions championship gold ring.

The final event of the tournament is the $5,000 Pot-Limit Omaha contest. In 2016 it had 78 entries and $366.600 prize pool. Daniel Demicki from Poland won $5,000.

Although Ari Engel won the Main Event, all seven of the players who reached the final table walked away with some prize money. In order behind Ari were: Tony Dunst, Samantha Abernathy, Alexander Lynskey, Dylan Honeyman, Kitty Kuo and John Apostolidis.